Interview on Brandy Nacole’s Blog

BN:  When did you start writing?
CG:  I’ve been writing fiction since I was a little kid. I use to sneak out of bed late at night, while my parents were sleeping, and use my dad’s computer to do my writing. My parents use to wonder why I was always so tired in the mornings! Then I showed them all my half-completed adventure tales and they stopped worrying so much.

BN:  What inspired you to write your first book?  
CG:  I wrote my first book at the age of thirteen. I had become obsessed with the first Alien movie. Yes, I was a little young to be seeing it then. However, from this movie I fell in love with the SciFi genre as a whole, and then wrote my first book called Captured.

BN:  Describe a typical writing session or your typical writing area.  
CG:  I am in graduate school full time, so I have to set aside specific time for my fiction writing sessions. I set the alarm early and make a big pot of coffee. I am very much a visual person, and if I have a scene requiring a lot of description, I draw pictures of the environments and characters first. I have very vivid dreams and nightmares and will often pop out of bed with inspiration and jot these into a journal in the middle of the night. During my more formal writing sessions, I use my hand written notes and then organize them into a more fitting flow. 

BN:  What are your current projects?  
CG:  I am currently working on the sequel to The Sity. It’s about halfway done, and I am hopeful it will be completed sometime this year!  

BN:  What genre is your latest book?  
CG:  It’s really difficult to peg one genre for The Sity. I’d describe it kind of like a tossed salad. The lettuce is SciFi, but there’s also horror, fantasy, and paranormal elements tossed into it. 

BN:  How did you come up with the title?  
CG:  This novel is about an extraterrestrial city of sin. Hence the title The Sity is a play upon these words. 

BN:  Is The Sity part of a series?  If so, how many books do you plan on being in the series?  
CG:  Yes, The Sity is the first book in a four part series. 

BN:  Which of your characters are your favorite and why?
CG:  My favorite character is probably Joseph. He’s inspired by my father in-law who is disabled. This character is dedicated to him and other disabled individuals and the courage and strength that they demonstrate overcoming some of life’s obstacles. 

BN:  Which is your least favorite?
CG:  Well, it has to be Captain Kreagor. He’s a despicable villain, so I pretty much hate him. However, like with any good villain, there might be more to him than meets the eye. Maybe people will have to find that out in the sequel! 

BN:  What are the books links?

  
~Okay now that we know a little about your writing life and your books, tell us a little about yourself.~ 
 
BN:  What do you like to do outside of writing?  Any interesting hobbies? 
CG:  I am an animal lover and I have always had a lot of pets. At one point in time, I had a parakeet, six turtles, two iguanas, and two guinea pigs. It’s like having a personal zoo. As for a hobby, I really enjoy sports and playing tennis. 
 
BN:  Do you typically read the same genre you write?
CG:  I read all types, but as a future elementary teacher, I actually read a lot of children’s picture books. And I have to say, I love some of those books immensely! 
 
BN:  What is your all time favorite book?
CG:  It’s got to be the Golden Compass by Philip Pullman.
 
BN:  Tell us something random about you.  (Fan of…..)
CG:  People tell me I look a lot like Jimmy Fallon. At least once a week, strangers will approach me, some even asking me for my autograph, thinking that I am the TV host.
 
BN:  What is the most exciting thing you’ve ever done?
CG:  Getting married to my wonderful wife Holly was pretty exciting! Other than that, I was very excited to visit the pyramids of Teotihuacan in Mexico.
 
BN:  Describe yourself in five words.
CG:  Eclectic, eccentric, easy-going, empathetic, and edgy  
 
BN:  Where can readers find out more about you and your books?
Twitter: CGeist_thesity
Leave a Reply

