Kerry Drewery: The good, the bad and the ugly – how to deal with reviews

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

When I was first published I remember the excitement of receiving and reading that first review. Well…it wasn’t excitement exactly, more terror and nervousness tinged with a little feeling sick and a big whollop of hope.

What if they hate it?

What if they slag it off?

What if they give it no stars at all and think it’s the worst thing they’ve ever read?

Luckily, it wasn’t. But I often wonder if reviewers realise the power they hold over us writers when they share what they think of our work. (And I’m talking reviews here, not synopses!)

Not that I think they shouldn’t review if they didn’t enjoy it, opinion and debate is good, bad review can make me miserable just as a good one can make my day. Maybe it’s just me: I’m not thicked-skinned enough, take things too personally, am too delicate or other such excuses.

I…

View original post 577 more words

Leave a Reply

