What’s Left of You

Hey folks,
So I know I’ve pretty much disappeared from my blogging, twitter, and FB pages. Instead of keeping up with social media, I’ve been busy being a daddy to a crazy, energetic, almost-two-year-old girlie. And I’ve also been busy working on three different projects.

Here’s a little preview from one of the projects, which is tentatively titled:
What’s Left of You.

***

He reached forward to claw at his right foot. Her tiny, soft hand pulled his arm back. Her eyes were watery, but unwavering. She didn’t say a word. She didn’t need to. She was always right. Somehow, even at the age of fourteen, she knew better than her old man.

If only I could be more like you, Chase thought with a grimace then a grin. He smiled at his daughter. She didn’t smile back. Chase shook his fists, shaking away the burning desire to touch his foot—what little was left of it. He unraveled his fist into an open palm and caught the tears that trickled down Hannah’s cheeks. How much more can I put her through? Chase wondered. How can I afford not to?

“You promised me,” Hannah said with lowered eyes. She hunched over next to him on the bench.

“I know,” Chase replied.

Hannah picked at the scab on her knee. She didn’t say anything.

“This will be the last time,” Chase lied.

“OK, dad.”

Chase reached into his pocket. He laid the crumbled sale slip on her lap. “Look at how much they paid me this time.” He gently guided her head up so he could see her wet eyes. “Now, we can get enough food for the next month.”

Hannah’s stomach rumbled. “T-T-That’s great, dad.”

Chase sighed. “Honey, and remember that dress you wanted. Now…now we can finally get it.”

Hannah looked up. “Really?”

“Yes, really,” Chase said. “You deserve it. You deserve that and many more dresses. You deserve everything you want.” Tears flooded from her eyes. “What’s wrong, honey?”

“It was just a stupid dress,” Hannah whispered. “I didn’t even want it that much. I-I-I wish I hadn’t said anything about it. If I knew you’d do this, I wouldn’t have…”

“I know,” Chase interjected. “Hey you… you listen to me. I wanted to do this. I did. Your birthday is coming up and last year you didn’t get anything. So things are going to be different from now on.”

“OK dad.” Hannah looked down again. “Next time…”

“There will be no next time.”

“Next time, just let me do it,” Hannah said. “They’ve taken enough of you already.”

Leave a Reply

